Philip Levine Poetry Book Prize Competition (2011)

noid's picture
09/30/2011 - 12:00am
09/30/2011 - 11:59pm

Philip Levine Poetry Book Prize Competition

$2000 prize and publication by Anhinga Press


Postmark Deadline: 9/30/2011

Previous Judges: Brian Turner, Garret Hongo, Dorianne Laux, C.G. Hanzlicek, Corrinne Clegg Hales, Philip Levine

Previous Winners: Lory Bedikian, Sarah Wetzel, Shane Seely, Neil Aitken, Lynn Chandhok, Roxane Beth Johnson, Steve Gehrke, Fleda Brown.

2011 Guidelines

All poets are eligible except: faculty, current students and graduates of the MFA Program at California State University, Fresno and close friends, family, or recent students of the judge.

Manuscript should be original poetry, not previously published in book form, 48-100 pages, no more than one poem per page. Include two manuscript title pages: one with name and contact information and one with the name of the manuscript ONLY.

Manuscripts are screened and judged anonymously. Multiple submissions are fine as long as the manuscript is withdrawn immediately upon its acceptance elsewhere.

The entry fee is $25. Checks should be made out to “Fresno State (Levine Prize).”

Poets can submit more than one manuscript, but each will be considered a separate entry and must be accompanied by a $25 fee.

Mail Entries to:

Philip Levine Prize in Poetry

Department of English, Mail Stop PB 98

5245 N. Backer Ave.

California State University, Fresno

Fresno, California 93740-8001

Visit: or email Corrinne Clegg Hales at

Sponsored by: MFA Program in Creative Writing

California State University, Fresno

---Please post and/or distribute freely